Bedford High School Athletic Hall of Fame: Nominations due Friday, October 19

Submitted by Michael Rosenberg

The cases outside Bedford High School Athletic Director Keith Mangan’s office reflect the courtyard, and are full of trophies, testament to the success of BHS teams.

Nominations are open for the fourth class of inductees to the Bedford High School Athletic Hall of Fame.

Former student-athletes, teams, coaches and friends of BHS athletics are eligible for induction. At least five years must have elapsed since nominees were active in high school athletics.

Letters of nomination should include details supporting the nominee’s inclusion in the hall.  Previous letters of nomination have been retained for consideration this year.

Nominations will close on Friday, October 19, and a selection committee will announce the awardees the following week. The induction ceremony is scheduled for Saturday night, Nov. 24.

Nomination letters may be sent to Keith Mangan, Bedford high School director of athletics, at or by U.S. Mail to the high school at 9 Mudge Way, Bedford 01730.

Members of the first BHS Hall of Fame Class, inducted in 2006, are Dorothy Blake, Donn Campbell, Mike Elias, Yvonne Busa Ethridge, Ryan Friend, Coach Helen Gfroerer, Caitlin Hurley, Kristin Dougherty Maskalenko, Coach Arthur McManus, Coach Armand Sabourin, Joe Sickles, Steven Shea, Dennis Taylor and the 1975 championship swim team

Game ball from Bedford’s 1990 State Softball Championship

Two years later the hall welcomed honorees Kim Alcaide, Dr. Neil Amidon, Dr. Elisa Banner, Dan Callahan, Mike Genetti, Jim O’Shaughnessy, Coach Jake Sullivan, Steve Wood, Kerri McGovern Yaceshyn, the 1989-90 state championship winter track team and the 1990 state championship softball team.

The most recent inductees, in 2010, include Christine Geilfuss, Lois Farrell Koering, Jennifer Hanson Naylor, Todd Russell, Coach Bob Petrillo, the 2002 state championship boys’ tennis team and the 1958 baseball team. Doug Coombs was inducted posthumously.

Call Mike Rosenberg at 781-983-1763 with any questions.