Citizen of the Year Nominations Due on Friday, July 31

Compiled by The Bedford Citizen

Town of Bedford New SealAssistant Town Manager Jessica Porter reminds residents that there are only a few days left to nominate the 2015 Citizen of the Year. Nominations must be received by close of business, or be postmarked on Friday, July 31.

The Citizen of the Year is chosen by a confidential committee and announced shortly before Bedford Day. A ceremonial post, the Citizen of the Year rides in the Bedford Day parade, is honored with a town-wide party, and in December turns on the Bedford Common’s holiday lights and greets Santa as he arrives via firetruck.

Bedford Citizen of the Year guidelines include service to not-for-profit organizations or volunteer groups that benefit the Town (for example  food programs, garden clubs, Santa program, youth programs, etc.) or individual contributions that benefit the town. Criteria may include

  • Time spent and benefit resulting to the town in general, and the nomination can cover any time period
  • The Citizen of the Year must be a resident of the Town of Bedford, and serve organizations within the Town
  • Elected officials may not be selected  during their term of office,
  • Town employee may not be honored for their current position, prior elected, voluntary or appointed service in town positions or committees services may be considered

Click 2015 Citizen of the Year to print nomination paper that you can use to suggest a candidate.

Scan this list of past winners and in some cases, read their “nomination papers,” to learn about the residents who have been honored for a variety of contributions to the life of Bedford: 2014, Alma Pomponi; 2013, Ralph Hammond; 2012, Roberta Ennis; 2011, Donald Marshall; 2010, Robert F. Slechta; 2009, Joseph Piantedosi; 2008, Mary Narcisi; 2007, John Filios; 2006, Robert Mead; 2005, John Brown; 2004, Judith McConnell; 2003, Nick Genetti; 2002, Donald Corey; 2001, James Shea; 2000, Nancy Moore; 1999, James F. Sullivan, Jr.; 1998, George F. Dalrymple; 1997, C. Emerson Fox; 1996, Betsey Anderson; 1995, Doris (Mickey) Webber; 1994, Michael Rosenberg; 1993, Kenneth Sheldon; 1992, Marcelle Schnitger; 1991, Donna Argon; 1990, Miriam Adler; 1989, Charles W. Kespert; 1988, Mary Hafer; 1987, Lawrence Kimball; 1986, Fay Russo; 1985, John F. Perkins, Jr.; 1984, Louise E. Maglione; 1983, Harold I. Wellington; 1982, John Earl Dick; 1981, William J. Beecy; 1980, Alice E. Thompson; and 1979, Louis H. Smith.


Keep our journalism strong! Support The Citizen Journalism Fund today. Contact The Bedford Citizen: or 781-325-8606

Notify of

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Would love your thoughts, please comment.x