By Eliza Rosenberry

planning-board-bannerTwo veteran Planning Board members whose terms expire this year will not seek reelection.

Sandra Hackman and Lisa Mustapich both announced their intentions not to run at the December 6 Planning Board meeting.

During their tenures, Hackman and Mustapich oversaw significant planning initiatives and major development. Hackman has served on the Board for fifteen years and Mustapich has served for twelve years.

Following her announcement, Mustapich voiced support of Tim Gray who is running for a seat on the Planning Board. Gray is a freelance writer and an adjunct professor at Boston College. He currently serves on the Conservation Commission and has lived in Bedford for eight years.

To fill her seat, Hackman advocated for another candidate.

“I’m going to nominate Cindy Barbehenn,” Hackman said. “[Barbehenn] has been doing a lot of really great research and thinking about the issues that we cover and just has a lot of great, imaginative ideas. I’m hoping she’ll be a great addition to the Board.”

Barbehenn has a masters degree in economic geography and served previously on the Transportation Advisory Committee. She has lived in Bedford for over a decade.

Hackman’s and Mustapich’s terms will expire following the March 11 town elections.

“Thank you so much for your many years of service,” Chair Jeff Cohen responded following the announcements. “It’ll be an interesting spring.”

The remaining Board members are Cohen, Shawn Hanegan, and Amy Lloyd.

Pin It on Pinterest

Share This
Read previous post:
Bedford High School Student-Athletes Honored

Compiled by The Bedford Citizen When asked about Bedford High School's score of All-Star designations and recent awards, Athletic Director...