Marja Hubbard and Melanie Weber, both Juniors, are part of the Saturday phone-a-thon shift

Submitted by Alma Pomponi. Phone-A-Thon Co-Chair

Volunteers Cindy Taylor, Beth Goodrich, Diane Bernstein, and Johanna-Guarino – Courtesy image, all rights reserved

The annual Phone-a-Thon of CSF of Bedford Dollars for Scholars on the 52nd anniversary contacted Bedford and Hanscom community residents who pledged over $34,000 according to chairpersons Alma and Silvester Pomponi.

The MITRE Corporation, Burlington Road, was the site of the telephone fund drive efforts of 95 Bedford High School student callers over the March 4 – March 5 weekend.   Students were recruited by Social Studies Department teachers, coordinated by Christine Butler, worked in two-hour shifts.  Nineteen adult volunteers stuffed pledge envelopes sent to 5150 residents.

Senior class callers were: Melanie Albrecht, Luc Angulo, Felicia Barber, David Bartkus, Matthew Bridgeman, Madison Brown, Elizabeth Carter, Matthew Clement, Sarah Craven, Vincent Dee, Stephen Dresel, Savannah En, Nathan Fisette, Brittany Frazier, Julia Gavelek, Pallavi Goel, Allison Jew, Joana Khatib, Jennifer Kudenchak, Mary Manning, Jeanette Manship, Stella Miller, Tristan Paredes, Meredith Roy, Jared Rushanan, David Timperio, Lily Weaver and Deborah Weidman.

Junior class callers were:  Annemarie Anderson, Nicole Bianco, Bharat Bogelli, Michael Chen, Annie Cowen, Taline Dawson, Megan Demeo, Kiera Doherty-Herwitz, Melissa Driscoll, Niko Galvis, Tobin Hart, Joseph Hegarty, Will Hegarty, Cordelia Houck, Sienna Hoyland, Marja Hubbard, Meghan Kean, Alisha Lerra, Gerald Liao, Casey Millar, Sarah Pequeno, Rachelle Shao, Michael Vaughan, Lauren Venuti, Melanie Weber and Leslie Yan.

Sophmore callers were:  Omar-Karim Al-Adhami, Meghan Barnes, Mia Bernstein, Michael Buonopane, Erin Cahill, Ashley Guarino, Jessica Johnson, Kaitlin Kean, Bernice Lai, Nicholas Manning, Allison Milano, Georgia Pitner, Cameron Rackey, Julia Simoneau, Alphina Thopurathu, Sylvia Yan and Eran Zelixon.

Freshmen callers were: Jordan Alper, Danielle Arnold, Ella Cicone, Elizabeth Connell, Kai Chun, Sean Doucet, Mia Federico, Sigrid Flender, Gabriella Fournier, Emma Guarino, Oliva Harrington, Seonyu Hwang, Eleni Kennos, Aneesha Manne, Samuel Mortenson, Lily Nemirovsky, Cole Parks, Derek Shao, Jake Slavin, Isabella Stuzynski, Swetha Susarla, Alan Wang, Malachy Wright and Lauren Young.

Dollars for Scholars volunteers stuffing envelopes were, Sheila Albrecht, Sue Baldauf, Diane Bernstein, Alice and Dan Churella, Don Criscione, Sarah Dorer, Roberta Ennis, Beth Goodrich, Robin Grace, Johanna Guarino, Laura Heyl, Shirley Kring, Jerry Pfeffer and Judy Smith-Pfeffer, David Silber, Ron Stewart, Cindy Taylor, and Janet Werth.

The money raised in the annual “Dollars For Scholars” Phone-a-thon is the principal source of funds for college scholarships awarded to graduating seniors by Dollars for Scholars.  This year’s scholarships will be presented at a reception to be held at the Double Tree Hotel in Bedford on May 24, 2017.  “Dollars for Scholars” donations can be mailed to CSF of Bedford Dollars for Scholars, PO Box 585, Bedford, MA 01730-0585.

Any graduating senior from Bedford High School, or any Bedford resident who is graduating from any other secondary school, or completes home schooling, is eligible for scholarship aid.  Aid is available for students going to four-year colleges, two-year colleges, or to schools for technical, vocational or specialized training.  Applications are available online, with a deadline of 21 March.  For more information, please visit the website

The awards committee of scholarship directors and other local citizens meets in the spring to review the applications of students who apply for aid.  CSF of Bedford Dollars for Scholars seeks to award scholarships on the basis of merit with the amount determined by need, following the guidelines of the national organization.

Pin It on Pinterest

Share This
Read previous post:
Bedford Welcomes a New Neighbor – The Edinburg Center

By Dot Bergin A once-empty office building at 205 Burlington road (Rt. 62) has been transformed into a dynamic center...