Local Caucus Elects Bedford Democrats as Delegates to State Convention

State Senator Mike Barrett addressed the caucus – Courtesy image (c) 2017 all rights reserved

Submitted by Bedford Democratic Committee Chair Shawn Hanegan

Despite unseasonably warm temperatures outside, there was a good showing at the Bedford Town Center for a caucus to select delegates and alternates to the Democratic State Convention this year.

The Democratic State Convention will be held June 3rd in Lowell and will serve to debate and ratify the party’s platform- a document reflecting the principles and goals of Massachusetts Democrats.

Reflecting increased interest and enthusiasm in the party and progressive values, we welcomed several newcomers to the caucus process.

The caucus opened with a moment of silence to honor the memory of Democratic Town Committee co-chair Rich Bowen, who passed away in January. The caucus then elected eight men and women to serve as delegates: Carol Krusemark, Abby Hafer, Margot Fleischman, Emily Mitchell, Chris Gittins, Bill Barney, Phil Prince, and Brown Pulliam. (Ron Cordes, Tom Larkin, Shawn Hanegan, and Ken Gordon will also be attending from Bedford as ex-officio delegates). As alternates, the caucus chose: Sandra Hackman, JoAnn Santiago, Alan MacRobert, and Brian Hart.

Congratulations to all those elected.

If you wish to continue to follow news about Bedford Democrats, please check out our Website at https://www.bedfordmassdems.org/ and also our Facebook page at “Bedford Massachusetts Democratic Town Committee” We’d love to hear from you!



Keep our journalism strong! Support The Citizen Journalism Fund today. Contact The Bedford Citizen: editor@thebedfordcitizen.org or 781-325-8606

Notify of

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Would love your thoughts, please comment.x