Nominations are Encouraged for the 2019 Bedford High School Sports Hall of Fame.

Displaying their new plaques following ceremonies at American Legion Post 221 Saturday night are the 2017 inductees of the Bedford High School Sports Hall of Fame: from left, Rich Tomczykowski ’01, Sarah Collins ’02, Pamela Wetherbee-Metcalf ’83, Kevin Cangiano ’10, Bob Schwelm ’77, Kristen Cangiano ’10, Bruce Winslow ’64, Rob Emerson ’81 and Mark Lane ’72. Also inducted were Alan Tomczykowski ’01 and the late David Ahern ’06 – Image (c) Clive Grainger, 2017 all rights reserved – Click to view larger image

Submitted on behalf of the Bedford Athletic Association

The Hall of Fame, sponsored by the Bedford Athletic Association, features individual student-athletes, teams, coaches and friends connected to interscholastic athletics at BHS. Nominees are evaluated by a selection committee, based on measurable and intangible performance, as well as achievements after BHS. Letters of nomination should include as much detail as available, including honors, statistics and testimonials.

An induction dinner and ceremony is planned for early April, so nominations must be submitted by Dec. 31.

Letters and supplementary information should be mailed to Keith Mangan, director of athletics, at Bedford High School, 9 Mudge Way, Bedford 01730, or emailed to

The BHS Sports Hall of Fame was launched in 2006, and there have been five subsequent biennial inductions.  There are 50 student-athletes, six coaches (plus one coach who is a graduate) and seven teams.

Contact Mike Rosenberg for answers to questions about the Hall of Fame (781-983-1763,

Click this link to read about the 2015 Hall of Fame Induction Ceremony

New members of the 2015 Bedford High School Sports Hall of Fame pose after induction ceremonies Saturday night: front, from left: Susan (Wootton) Cormier, Abby Hafer, Susan (Goldman) Kaplan and Maribeth (Barck) Beauchamp, all members of the 1974 girls’ cross-country team, and Jenny Champney; rear, from left: Liam Hurley, Colleen Strachan, Vin McGrath, John Isnor Sr., Jonathan Gault and Jerry Cohen. Not present for their induction were Terrance Favors and Joe LaDow. Image (c) Mike Rosenberg, 2015


Click this link to read about the 2013 Hall of Fame Induction Ceremony

Inducted into the 2013 BHS Hall of Fame: Members of the 2000 soccer team (front, L-R) Dane Mahoney, Alan Tomczykowski, Ryan Wilson, Rich Tomczykowski and Matt Kruger; (rear, L-R), Carla (Inferrera) Monte, Kim (Ratcliffe) Ginder, Carol Ward, Kevin Paul Dupont, Kip Sternberg, Joe Dooley, Coach Dave Wilson and soccer team members Dave Webster, John Bentley and Scott Epple. Courtesy photo from Mike Rosenberg


Inducted into the 2013 BHS Hall of Fame: 1971 classmates Joe Dooley, left, and Boston Globe sportswriter Kevin Paul Dupont – Courtesy image

Keep our journalism strong! Support The Citizen Journalism Fund today. Contact The Bedford Citizen: or 781-325-8606

Share your enthusiasm for this article!

Notify of

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Would love your thoughts, please comment.x