Bedford Blue Wins MSBL ‘A Division’ Championship

Bedford Blue Celebrates its 2019 MSBL Championship at Robillard Field in Arlington – Back row: Mark Sullivan, Virendar Kaushik, Dylan DiGangi, Will Campbell, Charlie Naylor, Matty Forman, Jake Morrison, Dan Brosgol, and David DiGangi. Front row: TJ Mead, Andrew Sullivan, Devan Kaushik, Riley Daniel, and James Brosgol. Not shown: Max Alper, Nick Solitro, and Will Taft – Courtesy image (c) Susan DiGangi, 2019 all rights reserved – Click to view larger image

Special to The Bedford Citizen

The Minuteman Spring Baseball League (MSBL), a 13-15 yr old baseball league consisting of towns surrounding Bedford, including Arlington, Winchester, Belmont, Watertown, Lexington, Somerville, and Medford, finally held their A Division Baseball Championship game under the lights Saturday at Robillard Field in Arlington. After two straight rainouts, the Bedford Blue Bucs showed no signs of rust after the layoff, scoring a 9-3 victory over a determined Somerville Blue en route to the championship. The game featured strong pitching, timely hitting, and stellar defense.

Bedford flashed the leather early, as James Brosgol made a leaping catch at shortstop keeping the teams scoreless through the first inning.  Bedford struck in the second inning as Will Campbell and Andrew Sullivan singled to start a rally. Riley Daniel and Devan Kaushik each followed with RBI singles, and Brosgol tacked on another run with a sacrifice fly, making it 3-0.

In the top of the 4th, Kaushik singled and after Brosgol reached base, Dylan DiGangi crushed a double to straightaway center, driving in a run. Jake Morrison promptly ripped the next pitch to left field for a two-run single, making it 6-0. Somerville tried to rally in the bottom frame, but starting pitcher DiGangi, catcher Sullivan, and first baseman Campbell executed a perfect 1-2-3 double play to escape a bases-loaded jam. Bedford added another run in the 5th using great situational baseball to keep the pressure on. Following a Campbell single, TJ Mead executed a perfect bunt to move Campbell to second base, and Sullivan lined an RBI single to right to extend the lead to 7-0.

Somerville would not go quietly, as they pushed across 3 in the bottom of the 5th inning, making it 7-3. Bedford struck right back in the top of the 6th. After Brosgol reached on an error and DiGangi singled, Morrison crushed a double to right center, plating another run.  Charlie Naylor then smashed an RBI single to center to make it 9-3. Matthew Forman laced a hot shot up the middle, but the Somverville shortstop made a nice play to prevent further damage.

On the bump, DiGangi threw 5 strong innings, giving up 3 runs (1 earned), striking out 6. Morrison finished up throwing 2 scoreless innings.  In the field, Riley Daniel made multiple excellent plays at 2nd base, including an incredible diving stop in the critical 4th inning. Naylor and Forman tracked down every fly ball hit their way in the outfield. At the dish, Morrison led the attack with 4 hits and 3 RBIs, DiGangi, Campbell, Sullivan, and Kaushik each tallied 2 hits. With the spring championship secured, Bedford Blue moves on to the MSBL A Division summer season.

Good luck, Blue!


Keep our journalism strong! Support The Citizen Journalism Fund today. Contact The Bedford Citizen: or 781-325-8606

Share your enthusiasm for this article!

Notify of

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Would love your thoughts, please comment.x