Three Bedford Teams Finish in Third Place at Saturday’s Fort Devens Challenge


Courtesy image (c) 2021 all rights reserved – Click to view image at full size

Bedford competitors turned in some impressive performances in Saturday’s Fort Devens Challenge, a new invitational event sponsored by the Massachusetts State Track Coaches Association.

The format was unusual, as runners could compete in one of three distances: three, four, or five kilometers. The top two finishers for each team counted in the overall score.

Three of the Bedford team entries finished in third place.

Leading the girls in the 4K race were Grace Niu, who came in fifth place in 18 minutes, 46 seconds, and Kaylyn Sethakosee, 34 seconds behind her in sixth. There were 19 runners comprising six teams; Rya Methratta and Allison Miller also competed for Bedford.

Team photos

Courtesy image (c) 2021 all rights reserved – Click each to see it at full size

More Results

Jay Schwartz (14:48) and Josh Garraway (15:11) finished fifth and sixth, respectively, in the boys’ four-kilometer race. Other Bedford runners were Nick Cobosco and Sam Lincoln.

Bedford girls also were headliners in the 3K race, with Maddie O’Neil taking fifth place in 14:03 and Samantha Sheahan in seventh, just five seconds behind her teammate. There were 34 runners; Madeleine Ota and Ana Protasowicki also competed for Bedford.

In the boys’ 3K contest, Bedford was sixth out of 13 teams, with Peter Benson coming in 15th with a time of 12:03 and Alex Brough 16th in 12:13. There were 56 runners, also including Bedford’s Matt Goodhue and James Marino.

Sixty-eight boys ran in the 5K race, and Bedford placed seventh among 13 teams. The Bucs’ Jonny Garraway was 15th at 18:15 and Carter Rauch was 22nd at 18:26. Other Bedford competitors were Lucas Guerrero, Oren Brosgol, Anthony O’Brien, and Lucas Morvillo.

Bedford girls were fifth out of six teams and 25 runners in the 5K contest. Lulu Steele came in 14th with a time of 22:45 and Farrah Scott 15th at 22:53. Other Bedford runners in the 5K were Coco Steele, Elena Protasowicki, and Anna Marraro.

Nine girls from BHS also took part in a four-kilometer open race, led by Michelle Wong in 10th place and Ellie Sweetland 11th. They were followed by Julia Ke, Amelia Gosselin, Emily Wang, McKenna Loveless, Becca Kohler, Martha Hyde, and Iris Lin.

Mike Rosenberg can be reached at, or 781-983-1763

Invest in The Bedford Citizen for informative, relevant, and local news. Donate now!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.