Boy Scout Troop 194 Holds its 50th Reunion

Bedford Boy Scout Troop 194 recently held a reunion for its Eagle Scouts and Scoutmasters ~ Courtesy image (c) 2022 all rights reserved

~ Submitted by Alan Coady on behalf of BSA Troop 194, Bedford, Massachusetts

Boy Scouts of America, Troop 194 held its 50th Reunion (that is 50 years since its first Eagle Scout) on June 25th at the Billerica Elks Club.

This event was originally planned to be held back in 2019 but of course, COVID delayed that.  There were 22 returning Eagles that attended out of Troop 194’s roster of 96 Eagles.

Also, in attendance were 9 Scoutmasters and a 10th called in from the Philippines!

Additional assistant leaders, parents, and guests rounded out the group of 60 people.  After enjoying a catered meal, and of course, ice cream donated from Bedford Farms, everyone was given a chance to briefly talk about their Troop 194 experience and what they have been doing since moving on.

There were also many pictures and memorabilia placed around the hall for everyone to see and talk about.

Troop 194 has been serving the Bedford community for over 55 years now and has had over 500 youth participate in its adventures.

Next May we have made plans for a 5 day trip to Iceland!  Anyone wishing to join Troop 194 should contact:

The 2022 Troop 194 Eagle Scout Reunion

Eagles attending: (front row left to right) Bruce Warwick 1972, Ken Scheyder 1974 (also former Scoutmaster and still an Assistant Scoutmaster to this day), Bill Carter 1980 (former Scoutmaster), Rick Papalia 1981, Allan Coady 1982 (current Committee Chairman), John Carter 1983, Peter Stewart 2002, Matt Fish 2002, Michael Norton 2005, Rory Thrasher 2006, (back row left to right) Carl Thrasher 2010, Patrick Coady 2011, Robbie Santamaria 2011, Nicholas Vafiades 2012, Jason Vafiades 2013, Roy Watson Badell 2015, Neal Finnegan 2019, John Giaquinto 2019, Alan Wang 2019, Jimmy McGinn 2020, Henry Su 2022, Quinn Ricci 2022, (not in picture was Vishal Borra 2022).


Scoutmasters attending: (left to right) Leon Cierpial 1977-78, Ken Scheyder 1985-86, Bill Carter 1988-91, Bob Dutton 1996-01, Mark Norton 2001-05, Roger Thrasher 2005-06, (not pictured but calling in from the Philippines was Francis Harkins 2006-08), Jon “OC” O’Connor 2008-11, Jeff Carter 2011-16, Peter Ricci 2016-2022.

Keep our journalism strong! Support The Citizen Journalism Fund today. Contact The Bedford Citizen: or 781-325-8606

Notify of

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Would love your thoughts, please comment.x